Dr. R. K. Malhotra
President - HAI
About Hydrogen Association Of India
At the end of last century Knowledge and Natural Gas were assigned as hall mark of 21st Century, but now we have realized in the first few years of this century that the Natural Gas alone will not be able to help us reduce our movement for containing and reducing the CO2 emission. In the process of decarburizing our sources of energy, the scientists world over have accelerated the innovations on finding sustainable alternate sources of energy, and we believe that the research is narrowing down to "zero carbon fuel Hydrogen", which only has the potential to fulfill the need to be a clean, reliable and sustainable energy carrier, satisfying the need of both - the hearth and the wheel.

Scientists, in the olden days were unknowingly producing Hydrogen in their labs. Robert Boyle produced Hydrogen gas as early as 1671 in an experiment with iron and acids. However, it took almost a century before it was finally recognized as a distinct element by Henry Cavendish in 1766.
News & Events

Dr. R.K. Malhotra, President HAI, attended the Hydrogen and Fuel Cell Conference (HFC-2013) at Vancouver Canada from 16-19 June 2013. Dr. Malhotra gave a plenary speech on "Hydrogen and Fuel Cell What Next Five Years will Bring" highlighting the huge opportunities for fuel cell suppliers in India. Dr. Malhotra also gave a keynote presentation on "Hydrogen Initiatives in India".
Minutes of executive commitee meeting.

International Hydrogen & Fuel Cell Conference (IHFC – 2016)
Inaugural Session
Dr. R. K. Malhotra
Director General
Shri Sanjay Bandopadhyaya
Mr. A. P. Sawhney*
Additional Secretary
MoP & NG
Goverment of India
Prof. O.N Srivastava
Lifetime Achievement Award and Acceptance Speech
Dr. V.K. Saraswat
NITI Aayog
Goverment of India
Shri Arun Nemani
Vice President
Hydrogen Association of India
*To be confirmed
PID Eng Tech.
ONGC Energy Centre
Greenlight Innovations
Indian Oil Corporation Limited
Essential Energy
Air Products
International Association for Hydrogen Energy (IAHE), USA

Companies Participating:

  • Essential Energy
  • Greenlight Innovation, CANADA
  • Nowogen International, Hong Kong

  • Sukan Engineering Pvt. Ltd.
  • Dayalbagh Educational Institute
  • Radiant Coral Digital Technologies Pvt Ltd
  • Ballard Power Systems Inc., Canada
  • DCM Shriram
  • KPMG
  • PID Eng Tech
  • ARAI, Pune
  • Electrochaea GmbH
  • Tata Motors Ltd.
  • University of Birmingham
  • Buhler India Pvt Ltd
  • Gas Authority of India Limited
  • U.S. Depart. of Energy Fuel Cell Tech.Off
  • ONGC Energy Centre
  • Liquid Air
  • ISRO
  • Honeywell
  • Malaviya National Institute of Technology Jaipur
  • Institute of Chemical Technology, Mumbai
  • Nishal Enterprises Pvt. Ltd.
  • Indian Institute of Science
  • IIT Mandi, Himachal Pradesh
  • Indian Institute of Technology Madras
  • UoP / Honeywell
  • IICT Hyderabad
  • Jadavpur University
  • IRD Fuel Cell
  • CSIR-Indian Institute of Petroleum (CSIR-IIP)
  • Indian Institute of Technology Ropar
  • Indian Institute of Technology Delhi
  • National Institute of Tech. Warangal
  • New Energy and Industrial Technology Development Organization (NEDO)
  • Hexagon Lincoln
  • Bethelem Inc.
  • SIAM
  • Indian Oil